Version Song – A song rendered by two or more different singers or in different moods – 2 of 3

In the first part of this post, we looked at some of the additions to the already documented the songs in the classic versions songs model.

In this second part,we  now take a look at a slightly different model of the version songs:
In the first version Dev Anand woos stunning Sadhana by ‘Abhi na jao chhod ke’ – Hum Dono – Jaidev, and Sadhana soothes the frayed impatience in the duet –

whereas the second version is based on the same tune, but has altogether a different mood. Sadhana calmly goes on restore the sagging confidence of Dev Ananad. In Jahan Men Aisa Kaun Hai. This clip –

shows the connection between two versions by triggering Sadhana’s response with ‘Adhuri Pyas Chhod ke’ moment of the previous occasion.

In Bachpan Ke Din Bhula Na Dena – Deedar – Naushad –

the version with which we are so familiar is the one rendered by Shamshad Begum and Lata Mangeshkar, a jovial ride by two friends, their childlike innocence does not recognise the distance between their social class. The clip has  a piece by Shamshad and Rafi which then goes to the time when times have separated the friends  @ 3.17 and then @4.44 has Rafi extolling his love to his beloved child friend and the anguish that flows out at the end, @6.17, evident to all the protagonists.

Film Gumrah – Ravi-  had a couple of interesting use of version songs. The first version of Tujhko Mera Pyar Pukare-

is the statement of romance by the two person’s love for each other, whereas the second version –

truly reflects the physical separation but not the severance of emotional bond [Asha’s part is from the background in the picturisation of the song.

In “EK THI LADKI MERI SAHELI- FIRST VERSION” BY ASHA BHONSLE –

the mausi turned-mother aims to win the two children by an [autobiographical] story, whereas in the SAD VERSION –

[now accepted as[ mummy is not able to prevent her dilemma of her past and future – but  does remorsefully hopes that whatever shall happen will be for the good.

Aa Laut Ke Mere Meet from Rani Rupamati is probably more standard form of version songs Here is one by Mukesh –

and the one by Lata Mangeshkar –

It is the filming of the second version –  you will see in the video clip of female version that male member of the regal family is enjoying the worldly pleasures, whereas our heroine suffers her loss of love  –  that brings out the difference between two versions.

Similarly, it would be an interesting study to document some of the Hindi film songs, recorded either originally by another singer [or may be the same singer] in a different language. I would present just one such song here to drive the point of essential difference when two singers present the same tune –  Rafi – Hum Bekhudi Mein Tumko Pukaare Chale Gaye – Kala Pani :-

and here is its original version in Bangla by S D Burman [himself] Ghoom Bhulechi (Hum Bekhudi Mein in Hindi) –

or

We can see a very different being enacted in – Ye Mera Prem Patra Padhkar Ke Tum – Sangam – primarily a   Mohd Rafi  solo but you can trust Raj Kapoor to always come with very special. Here Lata’s pitching in later in the film sequence adds another dimension to the subject of the post.

We will look at more possible variation in the next, concluding part, of this post.

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of four years, I am now quite a regular blogger. I have been able to build a few very strong pen-relationships. I maintain contact with 38-years of my First Innings as freelance trainer and process facilitator. And yet, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.

5 thoughts on “Version Song – A song rendered by two or more different singers or in different moods – 2 of 3”

  1. Ashok Vaishnavji,

    You have stretched the boundaries of discussion on the subject. When I wrote on the Twin Songs, I was looking at the classic twin songs – male/female versions, and the curious fact that almost invariably the male version appeared to be more appealing and popular, to the extent that in many cases female version was unknown and had gone into oblivion. Looking at the other types of version songs (I had termed them hybrid songs), and their nuances based on their pictuisation, adds another dimension to their understanding.

    Another observation I would like to make is about the sheer number of such songs. I had started with twenty, thinking that most of the well known songs I had covered. I had to soon revise it to forty based on readers’ comments and my own recollections later. Now with Anuradha Warrier’s and your posts, I think we need to have a list of 100 to cover all known ones, including hybrid songs. It would be useful if you could collate all these and make one master article, which would be a tremendous source of reference.

    1. So true!
      In fact when I first planned my compilation, I had thought of doing classic research and present a list of songs, by types, by singers, by music directors.
      But when I saw that my comment [article 1 of 3 here] somehow was lost, my mind digressed to capture what I have done at present.
      Now that you mention it, I would certainly take up the task of a mater article.
      I would write separately to all of you for designing the article.

  2. How very helpful to be reminded here to listen to two or more voices singing together for the individual motivations behind the voices, sometimes blending, sometimes contrapointed!

    1. Indeed, this is a very pleasant musical experiment and have brought quite a few songs several notches up on popularity and musical benchmarks when different teams have focused on presentation of one particular song [poem etc.] under different format or mood etc.

Leave a Reply

