Carnival of Blogs on Golden Era of Hindi Film Music – June 2013

Welcome to June 2013 edition of Carnival of Blogs on Golden Era of Hindi Film Music.

We open current month’s Carnival by the articles on the songs rendered by Mohammad Rafi –

Vijay Bavdekar has presented Rafi ki Bhakti ras dhara (in Hindi)

In continuation of its unique traditions on Atul’s Song A Day, ‘nahm’ presents Aa jaa aa jaa o jaane waale (Sabak)(1950), Lyrics-D N Madhok, Music Director -A R Qureshi. This is the only Rafi solo song in the film. It is special song in an unassuming way.

Inde Bollywood et cie’ has picked up Jo Dil Ki Baat Hoti Hai  – Song Baaz (1953 – O P Nayyar.  Baaz was the First film of Guru Dutt as an actor and director, Baaz is an adventure at sea off the coast of Malabar under Portuguese domination in XVI century.

Sharad Desai has come up with one more unique style for collecting the songs of Mohammad Rafi, in Mohammed Rafi 25 A to Z letters songs actors movies. The article lists 25 different songs, with different letters, with different actors, and different movies, and seeks help to enlist a song starting with letter ‘X’.

Let’s talk about Bollywood’ has presented quite a painstaking piece of research in the article, Nutan film posters , in the form cover posters of  records of films featuring Nutan.

We have another brilliantly conceived post, a maiden entry on the Blog Carnival, from Maitri Manthan मैत्री मंथन – RAJ KUMAR, which has portrayed   five actors, who started their acting career in the 1950s, with the screen-name Raj Kumar.

And to make up hat trick of maiden entries on this Carnival, we have picked up  HINDI FILM SINGER – WINE PAIRINGS, An Oenophile’s Primer, which as the title pre-empts pairs classic wines with our playback singers. Even if you have not tasted that wine or have not heard that playback singer, the article provides enough arsenals to whip up the appetite for both.

And it is simply a wonderful celestial coincidence that one of our base team blog, Songs of Yore completes three years. SoY has not only sketched up its journey down the memory lane in this article, it has added thrown in a bonus of a triad of songs, you guessed right, each one rendered by three singers!

The Multiple Versions Songs series contuse to chart its frontiers across multiple languages – Anuradha Warrier whom we know through Conversations Over Chai has penned, in her easy-paced, but highly informative the article, Multiple Version Songs (11): Similar songs in Hindi and Malayalam, and  Arunkumar Deshmukh has, as always with the loads of background information in the backdrop,  presents . Multiple Version Songs (12): Similar songs in Hindi and Kannada.

June was onset of the monsoon in India. Conversations Over Chai is all geared up with umbrellas and raincoats to take a plunge in  My Favourites: Rain Songs and, then followed up that with a huge jump in the time machine to present My Favourites: Rain Songs-2. And whilst on the subject of Rains, it is certainly worth its while to re-visit the article Ten of my favourite monsoon songs by Dusted Off.

We have some excellent articles relating to “individual” player on the Hindi Film Industry scene.

We take up The Legends: Manna Dey first, since the article was written as a sort of get-well message to the one of the last living legends of Golden Era, who was recuperating in the hospital. Till writing of this piece too, all the prayers for his long life seem to have born results.

We have two articles on birthday celebrations – Ten of my favourite Shyama songs by Dusted Of and Happy Birthday, Padmini! by Dances on the Footpath., where you also find another link to a YT channel, Padmini162 aka Dancing Queen Padmini

We end this month’s Blog Carnival edition by taking a note of some great information added on the “comments” to the Dance On The Footpath-article, Azurie which we had covered in our last month’s edition    viz. Songs Of Yores on Azurie , Anandaswarup Gadde.

Looking forward to meet you through the comments on this edition and /or suggestions for further enriching this series, and most certainly at the next edition…..

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of four years, I am now quite a regular blogger. I have been able to build a few very strong pen-relationships. I maintain contact with 38-years of my First Innings as freelance trainer and process facilitator. And yet, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.

5 thoughts on “Carnival of Blogs on Golden Era of Hindi Film Music – June 2013”

  1. Ashokji,
    You are doing a great job of putting up monthly compilation of prominent blogs on the music and movies of the Golden Era. It is very convenient to have a glance at one place of noteworthy works in the month. Your own contribution on Songs Of Yore is quite commendable. Thanks.

    1. In fact my this experiment is an off shoot of the encouraging incentive that SoY has provided to my otherwise ‘plain vanilla’ hobby of listening to Hindi Film Songs to get a structured form.
      I am fully cognizant of the fact that no words will ever express my feelings of gratitude.
      I have been visiting all the links provided on each of the blogs that I follow, sometimes that leads to very good blogs which are not very active, some times to blogs which focus more on reviews or other analytic discussions or are just beyond the scope of the time period that we have chosen.
      So now it is time to draw a few more lessons from blogs like Soy, to introduce some variations in the style and / or content in this series.

  2. I agree with Songs of Yore, it is absolutely a wonderful idea. I just do not have much time to go blog hopping, considering I manage two blogs. I just visit a few but now with this compilation I sort have a focus and can just go straight to the relevant blog. Thanks— Shilpi Bose

    1. I am happy to know that you too have some useful value of this exercise. I did start that this to bring all that I read in a month on the same page, for my own future records.
      Would you feel any need for changes/ additions/ alterations – in the content, format, coverage?
      Please do feel free to keep sharing your views.

Leave a Reply

