1971 – 1973: My Years @ BITS, Pilani – Onwards To Pilani : The Turmoil and The Decision

The result for the last semester of 5-year BE degree course was already declared. My performance, in terms of the overall marks secured, was quite encouraging. The first, and obvious, outcome was that I already had shaken out from my lazy, drifting, occupation of keeping myself “busy’ with library visits to ‘prepare’ myself for the entrance tests for the applications I had put in Jamanalal Bajaj Institute, Bombay and BITS, Pilani.

I was now, also, aware that my first priority was to search for possibilities of getting a job. But the stark fact was that I had no idea whatsoever as to what kind of job I should look for, where to find a job and how to approach the potential employer, how to prepare for the interview and such related issues.

My father was outing in the word with colleagues to see if they knew anyone who can provide me some opening. I, too, had heard the awakening from the slumber bell alright. But the inertia of lack of knowledge about ‘how to get the first job’ had not really put me to an active search-apply-interview’ motion.  My daily reading contents at the local library had expanded to looking out for the ‘wanted’ columns in the pan-Gujarat presence English and Gujarati dailies at the library. I had also started working on the possible draft of my application for the job. My discussions with our neighbour academic colleagues, who were all doctorates in their respective fields, of my father now included getting in their inputs for drafting of the format and content of the applications.

Those were still not the days of getting the testimonials photocopied. One had to get these testimonials typed and get them certified with nominated authorities. As such, I started off with getting such copies typed out, go my father’s college and get the already typed copies duly authorised by any professor who as free enough on the given day. I was advised that I should get my copies of the SSC Board examination and the ten semester examinations of the BE degree course marksheets certified only by the Principal of the college, since that would make the duly authenticated “True Copy’ look more authentic!

Just as this turmoil of mind was gaining the momentum, I received a registered letter from BITS, Pilani. It was the call letter for the entrance test for the 2-year MBA post-graduate program!!

As soon as I finished reading the letter, I started of the meet my father at his office. Without much discussion, the first decision immediately after he finished reading that letter was that I should take that test.

My experiences of the maiden trip to Pilani in the next episode

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of 12 years now, even as I have evolved a certain pattern for my blog, I need to plan to create certain definitive changes in that pattern over next year or two. Because, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.

One thought on “1971 – 1973: My Years @ BITS, Pilani – Onwards To Pilani : The Turmoil and The Decision”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.