The Micro View of Best Songs of 1946 @ SoY – Male Solo Songs – MY Top Male Solo Songs

For the year 1946, the songs that were previously known to me are too few and too obvious. So, listening to them once again is certainly a mtter of pleasure. Interestingly, it was equally a pleasurable experience to almost first-time, listen to the other songs. As a result, I have taken up to list My Top Male Solo Songs for 1946 from among these songs.I have limited my listing  to ne song for each male singer.

Mohammad Rafi – Rahe To Kaise Rahe Dil Pe Ikhtiyaar Mujhe – Room No. 9 – Rasheed Atre – Nakhshab Jarachavi

In this quawwali-styled song, we get to listen Rafi in his natural elements.

Mukesh – Kiyo Ja Pyar…Na Himmat Haar, Kabhi Inkar Kabhi Iqarar – Rajputani – Bulo C Rani- Pandit Indra

Quintessentially vintage era styled prelude music follows by Mukesh in a tone that we have known in ‘50s –‘60s.

Mannaa Dey recorded as P Dey – Dil Churane Ke Liye Koi AA Raha Hai– Door Chalein – K C Dey

Manna Dey is unsually so soft, and so sweet, even  ithe lower scales.

S D Burman – Ummid Bhara Panchhi, Ya Khoj Raha Sajani – Eight Days – S D Burman –  G S Nepali

This is the only exception here, since this is one of the most heard of S D Burman’s song.

G M Durrani – Woh Nazaron Mein Samaye Jaa rahe Hai – Saathi – Gulshan Sufi – Wali Sahab

GM Durrani sings to a typical vintage era style,

Ashok Kumar – Laj Bhare In Nainan Mein Sakhi – Uttara Abhimanyu – S N Tripathi

Ashok Kumar fully resonates the feelings of the song. –

Surendra – Wo Paheli Mulaqat Hi Bas Pyar Ban Gayi – 1857 – Sajjad Hussain – Pt. Ankur

Surendra sings a lilting ghazal it its natural sweet form.

Khan Masatana (?) – Zindagi Zindagi Zindagi Koi Supana Nahi ZindagiDr. Kotnis Ki Amar Kahani –- Vasant Desai – Diwan Sharar

A vivacious composition that is further enlivened by livelier chorus as interlude orchestration.

K L Saigal – Hare Bhare Baag Ke Phoolo Pe Riza Khayyam – Omar Khaiyyam – Lal Mohammad – Dr. Safdar ‘Aah’

A quintessential KL Saigal, comes out in true romantic mood in the song..

Best Songs of 1946 – Wrap up 1 has gone on to select K L Saigal as the Best Male Singers for 1946 for his three songs Gham diye mustaqil/ Jab dil hi toot gaya/ Ae dil-e-beqaraar jhoom.

I have collected all the posts for Male solo songs @ Male Solo Songs  for ease of reading and downloading.

In our next episode(s), we will take up Micro View of Female Solo Songs of 1946.

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of 12 years now, even as I have evolved a certain pattern for my blog, I need to plan to create certain definitive changes in that pattern over next year or two. Because, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.

3 thoughts on “The Micro View of Best Songs of 1946 @ SoY – Male Solo Songs – MY Top Male Solo Songs”

  1. Ashokji,
    This is the first time that your Best 10 will be completely divergent from my choice or the general choice. You must have become thoroughly enamoured of the ‘unheard’ songs.
    AK

    1. This is so because of the sheer beauty that I found when I listened to these songs, first time during this project.
      In the previous years, it required several repetitions to get to the similar songs of vintage era.
      Let us if the similar pattern repeats when we get to female solo songs.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.