Thawing of a 40- year-old iceberg

January 3rd to 5th, 2014 was BITS Alumni Association’s Global Meet, at BITS Hyderabad campus.

O P Jagetiya, while shouldering lead responsibilities in arranging the logistics for the event, lost no opportunity to let the process of thawing in motion for the 1971 (-1973) M BA batch’s virtually defunct contacts.

O P Jagetiya took extra pains to get the 1971-1973 MBA Batch to on the same page. When all was said and done, (from R to L in the photograph here) Vinod Laroya, K Shantikumar Prakash Bhalerao, Yours Truly , O P Jagetiya  himself and  Santosh Kumar Hamirwasia and made it to this event.

1971 MBA Batchmates at BGM 2014
1971 MBA Batchmates at BGM 2014

The beauty of this re-union was that we simply put the yawning gap of 40 years aside and carried on as if we had re-assembled after our semester break.

We are now committed to:

  1. To arrange a get-together, at least once every alternate year
  2. To bring contact particulars of all our batchmates on one spreadsheet.
  3. Maintain live contact

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of 12 years now, even as I have evolved a certain pattern for my blog, I need to plan to create certain definitive changes in that pattern over next year or two. Because, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.