The Micro View of Best Songs of 1946 @ SoY – Female Solo Songs – Suraiya

Having completed the Male Solo Songs section of Songs of 1946 of the Best songs of 1946: And the winners are?, we now move over to the Female Solo Songs.

The female solo songs are likely to outnumber male solo songs by a very wide margin, this year too. We will also more number of female singers and (by and large) more solo songs per singer.This is also the year that will see Nurjehan in her full flow. Geeta Roy (Dutt), one of the leading female singers of decade of 50s of the Golden Era has debuted this year. Another Golden Era Great, Lata Mangeshkar is in the role of singing her own songs this year, and that to not on a significant scale.

There are a few songs that I have listened often enough, form my early listening days of 60s till now. But there are far more many songs that I got to listen for the first time.

Solo Songs of Suraiya

For the year 1946, Suraiya has solo songs spread over 4 films and 4 different music music directors. She plays against two vintage era stalwarts this year, Noor Jehan and K L Saigal, and she is just 17 years old.

Popular solo songs

Man Leta Hai Angadai Jivan Pe Javani Chhai – Anmol Ghadi – NaushadTanvir Naqvi

Socha Tha Kya Kya, Kya Ho Gaya – Anmol Ghadi – NaushadTanvir Naqvi

Other solo songs

Main Dil … Mein Dard Basa Laai, Naino Se Nain Mila Aai – Anmol Ghadi – Naushad – Tanvir Naqvi

Gam-e-Aashiyana Sataega Kab Tak – 1857 – Sajjad Hussain – Mohan Sinh

Meri Ho Gayi Unse Bat, Main Unki Hoon – 1857 – Sajjad Hussain –Shevan RIzvi

Ummido Ka Taara Kismat Se Kuchh Der Chamak Kar Toot Gaya – 1857 – Sajjad Hussain – Anjum Pilibhiti

Gulshan Pe Hai Bahar, Koyal Ki Hai Pukar – Jag Biti – Ghulam Haider

Bigadi Hui Taqdeer Nahi Banai Jaati – Jag Biti – Ghulam Haider

Ham Hai Dukhiya Is Duniya Mein, Sukh Mein Hai Sansar – Jag Biti – Ghulam Haider

Ham Ko Bhool Na Jaana O Pardesiya – Jag Biti – Ghulam Haider

Khayyam Hai Allahwala Matwala Allaahoo – Omar Khaiyyam– Lal Mohammad – Dr. Safdar ‘Aah’

YT links are not available for the following songs:

    • Ae Sufi Allah Wale, Husn Aaya Le Kar Pyale – Omar Khaiyyam – Lal Mohammad – Dr. Safdar ‘Aah’
    • Jal Ke Kuchh Kaheta Hai Hamse Aashiyana Zindagi – Omar Khaiyyam – Lal Mohammad – Dr. Safdar ‘Aah’
    • Bedard Zara Sun Le Garibon Ki Kahani – Omar Khaiyyam – Lal Mohammad – Dr. Safdar ‘Aah’

We will take up Solo Songs of Shamshad Begum for the year 1946 over next two episodes.

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of 12 years now, even as I have evolved a certain pattern for my blog, I need to plan to create certain definitive changes in that pattern over next year or two. Because, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.