Songs of 1945 @ SoY :: Female Solo Songs – Amirbai Karnataki [1]

If we take sheer number of songs as THE criterion for selecting The Best Singer for The Year, then Amirbai Karanataki undoubtedly takes the shield. The songs that I could locate on YT, from the ones mentioned in HFGK, make a two-post long list. However, that is not the only crireion we need to judge her. She has three films where she is the lead singer and has all songs to her account. The list is strong enough to make the first part of her 1945 solo songs.She also has seven other films where she is one of the female singers (listed in the 2nd part, to be followed.)

Runak Jhunak Chapal Charan Nache More Man – Amrapali – Saraswatidevi

Ud Jaau Re… Main To TaroN Ki Duniya Mein – Amrapali – Saraswatidevi

Mujhe Naino Ke Bandhan Kas Gaya Re Koi Pardesi – Amrapali – Saraswatidevi

Piya Mere Saath Rahenge Aaj Ki Raat– – Amrapali – Saraswatidevi

Is Duniya Ki Pagdandi Par, Tumhi Ho Mere Saathi – Amrapali – Saraswatidevi

Aaj Apane Ghar Mein Lagi Aag Re, Naujawan Jaag Re – Amrapali – Saraswatidevi

Man Mein Basa Le Piya Ko – Chand Chakori – Bulo C Rani – Wali Sahab

Jogan Bana Ke Piya Chhod Gaya Galiyo Mein – Chand Chakori – Bulo C Rani – Pt. Indra

Hawa Tum Qassid Ban Kar Jaana – Chand Chakori – Bulo C Rani – Pt. Indra

Mohe Phool Ke Gajre Ne, AankhoN Ke Kajre Ne Poochha – Chand Chakori – Bulo C Rani   –  Pt. Indra

Saiya O Saiya To He Bulbul Kahoon – Chand Chakori – Bulo C Rani – Pt. Indra

Doobati Nao Ko Tinke Ka Sahara Na Mila – Chand Chakori – Bulo C Rani – Wali Sahab

Yaar Ki Galiya Hai Bade Pyar Ki Duniya – Chand Chakori – Bulo C Rani – Wali Sahab

Main Tujh Se Poochhati Hun ….Ro Ro Ke Suanti Hai Aakhein – Chand Tara – Gyan Dutt – Swami Ramamand

Jhanan Jhana Mori Baaje Payaliya  – Chand Tara – Gyan Dutt – Swami Ramamand

Pardes Mein Jaanewale Sajan Teri Yaad Aayi – Chand Tara – Gyan Dutt – Swami Ramamand

Ro Ro Ke Sunaati Hain Aankhen Mera Fasana – Chand Tara – Gyan Dutt – Swami Ramamand

Tuje Meri Qasam, Meri JaaN Ki Qasam, Mere Manke Rog– Chand Tara – Gyan Dutt – Swami Ramamand

We will take up remaining Solo Songs of Amirbai Karnataki for the year 1945 in the next episode.

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of 12 years now, even as I have evolved a certain pattern for my blog, I need to plan to create certain definitive changes in that pattern over next year or two. Because, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.

3 thoughts on “Songs of 1945 @ SoY :: Female Solo Songs – Amirbai Karnataki [1]”

  1. Dear Ashok ji,

    I find your Blogs absolutely fascinating – they are a veritable treasure trove. About Amirbai, I do not know whether you are covering the Films in which she has acted also.

    Here’s a song from pre-1945 :

    (banni tera jhoola hai anmol…)

    With warm regards

    PARTHA CHANDA

    1. Dear Partha Chanda,
      Thanks for your encouraging response.
      I am working on collecting fairly accurate, and more enlightening information than what is already available on net at present on vintage era singers. Let us if that aspiration does fructify or not.
      Your clip of Station Master song led me to listen few more songs from that film. Thanks for leading to this treasure.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.