The Micro View of Best Songs of 1947 : Female Solo Songs – Other Female Singers and Lata Mangeshkar [2]

Zeenat Begum

Zeenat Begum belonged to what can be loosely termed as Lahore Club in the Hindi Films. She shifted to Bombay in 1944 and was active here till 1951, when she chose to Migrate to Pakistan. Her major active years thus pertain to the very last phase of the Vintage era. Therefore, even as she is considered quite an established playback singer in that period, bulk of her work remains not much heard to the-reared-in-the-golden-era person like me.

Even as I listed down Zeenat Begum’s solo songs for 1947 from HFGK, I was not sure that many of these songs may have a valid YT link. Surprisingly, not only almost all these songs did have a YT link, there are many YT links which do find a mention in HFGK to the credit of Zeenat Begum.

In the end, even as I had already planned her solo songs as part of the solo songs of ‘other; female sigers, her solo songs actually number befitting enough an indepnedant post.

Pade Ishq Mein Jaan Ke Ham Ko Lale – Aaj Aur Kal – Khursheed Anwar

Tere Bina Balam Jiya Mora Dole, Man Mein Mor Hook Uthe – Arsi – Lachhiram, Shyam Sundar (?) – Sarshar Shailani

O Meri Akhiyan Nit Din Roye – Arsi- Lachchiram. Shyam Sundar (?) – Sarshar Sailani

Kaun Sune Fariyad Meri Haye – Farz – K S Sagar

Yeh Kaisa Zamana – Farz – K S Sagar

Is Desh Ke Jwano Ko Ab Ajmaya Jayega – Farz – K S Sagar

O Sajan Samjo Na – Farz – K S Sagar

Ab Kahan Jaun Dushman Jamana Mera Ho Gaya – Intezar Ke Baad – Khan Aziz (Aziz Khan) – Gafil Harnalvi

O Ruthanewale, Chhup Chhup Ke Na Jiya Jala, Aa Man Ki Lagi Ko Buza – Intezar Ke Baad – Khan Aziz (Aziz Khan) – Gafil Harnalvi

Muhabbat Mein Teri Ae Bewafa, Kuchh To Wafa Hoti – Intezar Ke Baad – Khan Aziz (Aziz Khan) – Gafil Harnalvi

Allah Khata Kya Hai Gareebon Ki Bata De – Mehandi – Ghulam Haidar- Sagar Nizami

Hai Dil Hi Dil Mein Dil Ki Tamanna Haye– Mehandi – Ghulam Haidar- Sagar Nizami

O More Raja Ji Meri Gali Aana – Pagdandi – Khursheed Anwar – D N Madhok

Ik Banwara Panchhi… Nadiya Ke Kinare-– Pagdandi – Khursheed Anwar – D N Madhok

Ae Lo Badal Aaye, Wo Nahi Aaye – Pagdandi – Khursheed Anwar – D N Madhok

Tum Jug Jug Jiyo Maan Ke Jaaye– Pagdandi – Khursheed Anwar – D N Madhok

Pardesi Balam, Chhai Ghata Ghanghor, Papihe Mor Machaye Shor – Pagdandi – Khursheed Anwar – D N Madhok

Our quest for solo songs of other Female Singers and Lata Mangeshkar for the year 1947 will continue in the next episode as well.

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of 12 years now, even as I have evolved a certain pattern for my blog, I need to plan to create certain definitive changes in that pattern over next year or two. Because, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.

4 thoughts on “The Micro View of Best Songs of 1947 : Female Solo Songs – Other Female Singers and Lata Mangeshkar [2]”

  1. Ashokji,
    Thanks a lot for this post dedicated to Zeenat Begum songs. All were new to me. The first one ‘Pade ishq mein jaan ke hum ko laale’ is very nice and lingers in memory. One reason is that the tune reminds you of many iconic songs. For example, the interlude music ha very close resemblance to ‘Afsana likh rahi hun’.

    ‘O roothnewale chhup chhup ke na jiya jala’ seems to be soundless. My please check up the link.

    It seems it was very difficult for Zeena Begum to establish her distinct identity, because the singing style was typical, and her voice seemed to be a combination of Amirbai Karnataki and Shamshad Begum.
    AK

    1. AKji,
      Thanks for your very kind appreciation.

      Listening to Zeenat Begum so songs for 1947 was indeed a very revealing experience.

      The video clip of O Ruthanewale, Chhup Chhup Ke Na Jiya Jala, Aa Man Ki Lagi Ko did play at my end. However, for the sake of abundant precaution , here is an alternate link:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.