Hamsadhawani – An amateur’s search for ‘Something More’ about his favorite film song

I do not remember how I came to know that the song that I inherently liked –  Jaa Tum se Nahin Bolun Kanhaiyaa – Manna Dey and Lata Mangeshkar, Shaliendra, Salil Chaudhary  (Is it because each of the apparently known ingredients of the creation also happen to be my inherent favorites, that I liked this song? – I really do not know. But like I do.)- is based on a variant of classical Raag [Taraanaa in Raag Hansdhwani].

A few days back, I wondered what more can we find out about this song or Raag! And , hence this post……..

First and foremost, let us listen to the melody:

Parivar – Ja Tose Nahin Boloon

This is really a very good example of Hamsadhwani.  The basic theme of this piece was “borrowed” from “Vatapi Ganapathim”, which is a traditional Carnatic piece from Dixitar [comment @ http://chandrakantha.com/raga_raag/film_song_raga/hamsadhwani.shtml]

Next, in the list to listen is the basis of this song – as I know – the Taraanaa in Hamsadhwani. And what a coincidence – the two pieces that I had landed upon were rendered by Ustaad Amir Khan Saa’b and Begum Parveen Sultana, again my favorites when it come my pleasures of listening Indian Classical Music.

Here they are:

“Ustad Amir Khan tarana Raag Hamsadwani – awesome.flv”         

Ustad Shahid Parvez Khan – pays homage to the great Ustad Amir Khan by playing his famous tarana in Raag Hansadhwani. This video was filmed during the closing moments of a shibir hosted by the SPK Academy of Music.  Raag Hansadhwani  

http://youtu.be/KyNsixJkZs0

Raga Hamsadhwani – Tarana  –  Parveen Sultana    – Taken from: Sadabahar  Hamsadhwani  Music Today – Living Media India Ltd, Jan 2006    
http://music.ovi.com/in/r/Product/r/r/5303634

Here is an alternative version  too:

Before we take a deeper plunge in the classical terrain, let us visit what we can find in ‘Other Film Songs’ variety.

And I have a surprise on my hand:

Visit to site http://chandrakantha.com/raga_raag/film_song_raga/hamsadhwani.shtml  shows another great favourite of mine – O Chaand Jahaan Woh Jaaye – Lata and Asha, Rajendra Krishna, C. Ramchandra composed in Raag Hamsadhwani in Tal Kaherva:

This site also quotes one more non-filmy Meera Bhajan, rendered by Lata, which is compsed by Hridyanaath Mangeshkar

Karam Ki Gati Nyari        http://youtu.be/wnGhZHhsDwg

We would continue this as series of posts……

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of 12 years now, even as I have evolved a certain pattern for my blog, I need to plan to create certain definitive changes in that pattern over next year or two. Because, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.

5 thoughts on “Hamsadhawani – An amateur’s search for ‘Something More’ about his favorite film song”

  1. Being musically illiterate, I can make neither head, nor tail of the technicalities of the raag. But ‘jaa tose’ is a real classic.The three posts cover so many pieces in this raag! When I was at Lucknow, I heard one of our senior’s father (a famous classical Carnatic vocalist) sing ‘vatapi ganapathim’, but did not realize that this was the same raag as ‘jaa tose’ in spite of the close resemblance. It struck me only on reading this post.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.