The Micro View of the Songs of 1948 @ SoY – Female Solo Songs – Geeta Roy [1]

Personally for me, the songs that I heard here are the ones that I had heard for the first time. This simply means that most of songs that I had heard were of Geeta Dutt, and not those of Geeta Roy. And I always believed I have had many Geeta Roy/Dutt songs!

The number of Geeta Roy’s solo songs for 1948 too add up to our hypothesis that the year is an open-field for transition-vintage era singers,  as well as THE golden year singer – Lata Mangeshkar. The numbers also merit spanning our micro-analysis over two posts.

[1]

Dil Ke Geet Gayenge Mil Ke Gayenge – Anjana – D C Dutt – Vishvamitra Adil

Mujhe Kuchch Yaad Aata Hai… Meri Aankhon Mein Aansoo Hai – Anjana – D C Dutt – Bharat Vyas

Rim Zim Barase Nain Darae Biraha Ki Barsaat – Anjana – D C Dutt – Bharat Vyas

O Jadugar Kahe Tihari Gali Aaye – Chanda Ki Chandani – Gyan Dutt – D N Mdhok

Piya Piya Bagon Mein Papiha Bole – Chanda Ki Chandani – Gyan Dutt – D N Mdhok

Ulfat Ke Dard Ka Kabhi Majha Lo – Chanda Ki Chandani – Gyan Dutt – D N Mdhok

Jab Yaad Teri Aati Hai Dil Mera Bhar Bhar Aaye – Chanda Ki Chandani – Gyan Dutt – D N Mdhok

Ham Ko Bhula Diya To Kya Yaad Meri Bhulaoge to Jaane – Chanda Ki Chandani – Gyan Dutt – D N Mdhok

Jab Kaali Kaali Raaten Hogi Dil Se Dil Ki Baatein Hogi – Chanda Ki Chandani – Gyan Dutt – D N Mdhok

Aaja Re Balama Kaisi Suhaani Raat Hai – Chand Sitare – Premnath – Aziz Kashmiri

Dil Baar Baar Gabaraye Koi Ghadi Ghadi Yaad Aaye – Chand Sitare – Premnath – Aziz Kashmiri

Dil Se Tumhari Yaad Bhulaye Na Jayegi– Chand Sitare – Premnath – Aziz Kashmiri

Tere Milane Ko Ji Dhadake Kahan Gaye Patthar Ka Dil Karake – Chunariya – Hansraj Bahl – Muk Raj Bhakhari

O Motorwale Babu Babu Mialne Aa Jaa Re – Chunariya – Hansraj Bahl – Muk Raj Bhakhari

Koi Nain Mila Ke Chala Gaya Ek Aag Laga Chala Gaya – Chunariya – Hansraj Bahl – Muk Raj Bhakhari

Chupke Chupke Aana Mere Paas  – Didi – Mukund Masurekar – Indeevar

We will follow up with the second part of Geeta Roy’s solo songs of 1948 in our next episode.

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of 12 years now, even as I have evolved a certain pattern for my blog, I need to plan to create certain definitive changes in that pattern over next year or two. Because, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.