The Micro View of the Best Songs of 1949 @ SoY – Male Solo Songs – Surendra + ‘Other’ Male Singers

We have covered solo songs of two of the five principal male playback singers – G M Durrani + Talat Mahmood – for the year 1949.

Today we will listen to solo songs of Surendra as well those by ‘the other’ male playback singers, before we take two really significant players for the year – Mukesh and Mohammed Rafi.

Solo Songs of Surendra

Not so predominantly as Suraiya does on the female singer side, Surendra continues to hold the flag of singing star high enough on the male side for the current year.

Main To Hun Udaas – Kamal – S D Burman – Prem Dhawan

Jhoom Jhoom Ke Naach Re Manwa – Kamal – S D Burman

Ab Raat Gai Hai Beet – Kamal – S D Burman

Kiyun Samjhe Hamein Parwana – Imtihaan – Shyam Babu Pathak – Hari Krishna ‘Premi’

Solo Songs of Other Male Singers

Even as the songs do remain isolated in numbers, the picture that emerges provides quite a varied and rich canvas.

Aankhen Kah Gayin Dil Ki Baat – Laadli – SD Batish – Anil Biswas – Dr Safdar Aah

Wohi Rota Hua Ek Dil – Lahore – Karan Dewan – Shyam Sunder – Rajendra Krishna

Duniya To Yeh Kahati Hai, Insaan Kahaan Hai – Lahore – Manna Dey – Shyam Sunder – Rajendra Krishna

Jagmag jagmag karta nikla chand poonam ka pyara – Rim Zim – Kishore Kumar – Khemchand Prakash – Bharat Vyas

Khushi Ki Aas Rahi Dil Ko Aur Khushi Na Mili – Sawan Aaya Re – Khan Mastana – Khemchand Prakash – Arzoo Lakhanavi

Chahte Ho Gar..Ankhen Ladana Chhod Do – Chitalkar – Sipahiya – C Ramchandra – Rammoorti Chaturvedi

We will take up 1949’s Solo Songs of Mukesh in our next episode.

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of 12 years now, even as I have evolved a certain pattern for my blog, I need to plan to create certain definitive changes in that pattern over next year or two. Because, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.

10 thoughts on “The Micro View of the Best Songs of 1949 @ SoY – Male Solo Songs – Surendra + ‘Other’ Male Singers”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.