The Micro View of the Best Songs of 1949 @ SoY – Male Solo Songs – Mohammed Rafi – 2

We have covered solo songs of G M Durrani + Talat Mahamood, Surendra + ‘Other’ Male Singers, Mukesh. In the last episode we also listened to Mohammed Rafi’s evergreen solo songs till now.

We will now take up Mohammed Rafi’s other noteworthy songs which could not measure up on the same level of popularity.

O Jaanewale Chand Zara Muskara Ke Ja – Bazaar – Shyam Sundar – Qamar Jalalabadi

Mere Bhagwan Tu Mujhe Yoon Hi Barbaad Rehane De – Bazaar – Shyam Sundar

Shaheedo Tumko Mera Salaam – Bazaar – Shyam Sundar

Kyon Garm Sard Hote Ho – Chakori – Hansraj Behl – Mulkraj Bhakari

Dil Ki Dil Mein Rahi – Chakori – Hansraj Behl – Mulkraj Bhakari

Ek Dukhiya Jawani Ki Bas Itni Kahani – Chakori – Hansraj Behl – Mulkraj Bhakari

Zahe Kismat Zahe Kismat Teri Mehfil Se – Chilman – Hanuman Prasad – S K Chhibar

Jab Yaad Kiya Hum Yaad Aaye Hai – Chilman – Hanuman Prasad

Is waade ka matlab kya samjhun – Duniya – C Ramchandra

Rona hai to ro chupke chupke – Duniya – C Ramchandra

In the continuing next episode we will continue with the last of the Mohammad Rafi’s noteworthy, but not so popular, songs.

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of 12 years now, even as I have evolved a certain pattern for my blog, I need to plan to create certain definitive changes in that pattern over next year or two. Because, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.

8 thoughts on “The Micro View of the Best Songs of 1949 @ SoY – Male Solo Songs – Mohammed Rafi – 2”

  1. Ashok ji,
    Mohd. Rafi in spite of having more number of songs, did not measure up to the popularity of fewer songs of others. This I suppose continued till Baiju Bawra.

    However in most of these songs, the pristine voice of Rafi saab is very much evident.

    I personally like these songs of Mohd Rafi very much. In fact the last song in your list “Rona hai to ro chupke chupke” is among my top favourites.

    Thanks.

    1. It is so very true that MR hit the big popularity wave only after (almost) Baiju Bawra. All most all his songs in the preceding years did show his mettle, that brought him the wide popularity. Was it because of the lingering memories, in the minds of the public or music directors’ preference to mould his style into that of singing styles of erstwhile vintage era singers? Or was it a matter of his time not yet come?
      even the unbiased historians also have not been able to pinpoint the reasons.
      So for us, it is good enough to enjoy the songs.
      I too have a strong inclination for Rafi’s core songs – i.e. the ones when he did not succumb to the clapping from the first benches.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.