The Micro View of the Best Songs of 1949 @ SoY – (Male-Female) Duets – Duets of Mukesh

Mukesh has had quite well-known duets with almost every other female playback singer for the year 1949.

Films like Dada or Shabnam or Sunhere Din or Thes had more than two duets. I have accommodated one duet here and one more in my Top Choice songs, but still had to leave out the third one. Fortunately these ones are easily accessible on YT.

+ Lata Mangeshkar

Tirchhi Nazar Hai, Patli Qamar Hai – Barsaat – Shanker Jaikishan – Shailendra

Yeh Duniya Hai…. Yahan Dil Ka Lagana Kisko Aata Hai – Shair – Ghulam Mohammad – Shakeel Badayuni

+ Shamshad Begum

O Badi Julmi Tamanna Hai Dil Mein, Ho Aaj Mere Dil Mein – Dada – Shaukat Dehlvi – Majrooh Sultanpuri

Pyar Mein Tumne Dhokha Shikha, Ye To Batao Kaise – Shabnam – S D Burman – Qamar Jalalabadi

Maine Dekhi Jag Ki Reet, Sab Jhuthe Ho Gaye – Sunehare Din – Gyan Dutt – D N Madhok

+Surinder Kaur

Sari Duniya, Four-twenty…. Sari Duniya… – Dada – Shaukat Dehlvi– Shevan Rizvi

Dil Do Naino Mein Kho Gaya, Bura Hua Ya Bhala – Sunehare Din – Gyan Dutt – D N Madhok

+ Rajkumari

Bolo Bolo Sajan Bolo – Thes – Snehal (V G Bhatkar) – Kidar Sharma

+ Suraiya

Badra Ki Chhaon Tale Nanhi Nanhi BundiyaLekh Krishna Dayal – Raghupat Roy

+ Geeta Roy

Kismat Mein Bichchadana Tha, Hui Kyon Unse Mulaqaat Re – Shabnam – S D Burman – Qamar Jalaabadi

+ Asha Bhosale

Ye Qafila Hai Pyar Ka Chalta Hi Jaayega – Lekh – Krishna Dayal –Qamar Jalalabadi

We will take up some more Male Female Duets for 1949 in the next episode.

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of 12 years now, even as I have evolved a certain pattern for my blog, I need to plan to create certain definitive changes in that pattern over next year or two. Because, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.

8 thoughts on “The Micro View of the Best Songs of 1949 @ SoY – (Male-Female) Duets – Duets of Mukesh”

    1. Truly speaking each playback singer had some or other very special quality. It is music director who has to set his / her tune in a manner that would bring out the best of that quality.
      Some voices, like Lata Mangeshkar and several other playback singers (only) [as distinct from actor-singers) had a more universal range, which not only contributed to the professional playback singing eliminating the role of actor-singers who were not as versatile. The wider range of the tonal versatility may also have contributed to the longevity as singers.

      I, therefore, do have my personal preferences (that of an amateur listener) in the matter of liking different songs. And as such, my net always remains cast wide enough in terms of different singers. But that is my preference….so your mother is fully entitled to hold her opinion, more so because she would have had more exposure to the songs of vintage era.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.