The Micro View of the Best Songs of 1949 @ SoY – Male Solo Songs – Mukesh

Till now, we have covered solo songs of G M Durrani + Talat Mahamood and Surendra + ‘Other’ Male Singers. In other words we have fully covered the fringe and are ready to move to the core.

We will take up Solo Songs of Mukesh in our present episode.

The songs that we have selected here fall in three broad categories.

The first one is the songs that were, and still have been exceedingly popular. These are:

Baharon Ne Jise Chheda Hai – Sunhere Din (1949) – Gyan Dutt

Hum aaj kahin dil kho baithe – Andaz – Naushad – Majrooh Sultanpuri
Tu kahe agar jeevan bhar – Andaz – Naushad – Majrooh Sultanpuri

Toote na dil toote na – Andaz – Naushad – Majrooh Sultanpuri
Jhoom jhoom ke nacho aaj – Andaz – Naushad – Majrooh Sultanpuri

The other category is the songs that have been noteworthy, but could not attain the sustained popularity

Unki Gali Mein Aye Hum Kehdo Koi – Nazare – Bulo C Rani – Rajendra Krishna

Lut Gaya Din Raat Ka Araam Kyun – Lekh – Krishna Dayal – Qamar Jalalabadi

Rut Hai Suhani,Rut Hai Suhani – Thes – With Chorus –  Snehal Bhatkar – Kidar Sharma

Bhaghwan Jo Tera Bhi Bhaghwan Koi Hota – Thes – Snehal Bhatkar – Kidar Sharma

Third one is the songs that were not released in the final version of the film. These are:

Kyun Pheri Nazar – Anokhi Ada Naushad – Anjum Pilibhiti (Record No. 88034)

Sunaoun Kya Main Gham Apna – Andaz – Naushad – Majrooh Sultanpuri (Record No. 88035)

Ik Tu Ke Sar Utha Ke Chala – Monika- R S Banerji – (Record No. 35809)

[The film was never completed, so no censor certificate awarded. However, records were published.]

(The corrected information for these three songs is provided by Shri Harish Raghuvanshi.)

In our next and final episode(s) of Solo Male Songs of individual singers, for the year 1949, we will take up Solo Songs of Mohammed Raf.

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of 12 years now, even as I have evolved a certain pattern for my blog, I need to plan to create certain definitive changes in that pattern over next year or two. Because, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.

14 thoughts on “The Micro View of the Best Songs of 1949 @ SoY – Male Solo Songs – Mukesh”

  1. Ashokji,
    Another very useful supplement to yearwise reviews. Lut Gaya din raat ka aaram kyun is an excellent song, worthy for special mention.

    In unreleased songs there seems to be an inadvertent error. Kyun pheri nazar was perhaps for Andaaz and not Anokhi Ada. The uploaded has committed a still more serious mistake of mentioning Barsaat which we cannot rectify.
    AK

    1. Dear AKji,
      My first cut for Kyun Pheri Nazar was Anadaz only on the basis what is mentioned in YT upload. But, since Shri Harish Raguvanshi specifically called me up to clarify that he had this matter cleared up with Naushad himself before some twenty years when they had occasion to meet personally. Hence this correction and a credit note to Shri Raghuvanshi.
      I fully agree on the matter of Lut Gaya Din Raat Ka Aaram Kyun. It is one of those songs which mysteriously never hit box office charts, in spite of almost everything that a popular song ought to have so finely blended therein.
      Ashok Vaishnav

    1. Thanks a lot Maheshji for your very encouraging words,
      I have tried to follow the alphabatical order of the film name in presenting the songs.
      When I will compile a separate compendium of all the posts I will try my best to take care of your suggestion.
      Ashok Vaishnav

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.