The Micro View of the Best Songs of 1949 @ SoY – Male Solo Songs – Mohammed Rafi – 1

We have covered solo songs of G M Durrani + Talat Mahamood, Surendra + ‘Other’ Male Singers and those of Mukesh till now. We will now take up Solo Songs of Mohammad Rafi.

For the year of 1949, we have a fairly large number of solo songs of Mohammad Rafi, both in terms of number of films or number of music directors who chose Mohammad Rafi.  In fact the total number is large enough to warrant the coverage of these songs in more than one episode.

Here also we will split the songs in two categories – one in which were popular then and are even now and the other which do merit note but fall short on the comparative yardstick of popularity.

Mohabbat ke dhokhe mein koi na aaye – Badi Bahen – Naushad – Quamar Jalalabadi

Tum Humein Bhool Gaye Humna Tumhe Bhoola Sake – Balam – Husnlal Bhagatram – Qamar Jalalabadi

Thukarake Hame Chal Diye – Balam – Husnlal Bhagatram – Qamar Jalalabadi

Main Jindagi Mein Har Dam Rota Hi Raha Hun – Barsaat – Shanker Jaikishan – Hasrat Jaipuri

Dil ho unhe Mubarak jo dil ko dhoondte hain – Chandani Raat – Naushad – Shakeel Badayuni

Is duniya mein ae dilwalo dil ka lagana khel nahi – Dillagi – Naushad – Shakeel Badayuni

Tere Kooche Mein Aramanonki Duniya Le Ke Aaya Hun – Dillagi – Naushad – Shakeel Badayuni

Suhani raat dhal chuki – Dulari – Naushad – Shakeel Badayuni

Dil ki lagi ne humko deewana karke chhoda – Paras – Ghulam Mohammad – Shakeel Badayuni

Jin raaton mein neend ud jati hai – Raat Ki Raani – Hansraj Bahl – Arzoo Lakhanavi

In the continuing next episode we will take up Mohammad Rafi’s noteworthy, but not so popular, songs.

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of 12 years now, even as I have evolved a certain pattern for my blog, I need to plan to create certain definitive changes in that pattern over next year or two. Because, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.