The Micro View of the Best Songs of 1949 @ SoY – Male Solo Songs – G M Durrani + Talat Mahmood

Male Solo Songs

We commence our detailed journey for the year 1949 with Male Solo Songs. I would place the full video clip for those songs that I have heard for the first time or that I do not recollect much. For the songs that are well-known even today, I plan to hyperlink to the song. Once all major songs of each of the principal singers are covered, we will take up an overall summary of the specific category to present my views on the Best of the Category.

The game of numbers does not seem to work in favour of male solo songs in comparison with female solo songs. My review of the available songs for the year 1949 present 5 major male playback singers in so far as solo songs are concerned.

We take up Solo Songs of G M Durrani first.

Jigar Ke Tukde,Ye Dil Ke Tukde – Aaiye – Nashad (a.k.a. Shaukat Ali Haidari) – Nakhshab Jarachvi

Itani Si Kahani Hai Itna Mera Afsana – Aaiye – Nashad – Nakhshab Jarachvi

Nazron Se Mili Nazarein, Dil Ho Gaya Diwana – Aaiye – Nashad – Nakhshab Jarachvi

Zindgani Ka Maza Shaadi Mein Hai – Aparadhi  –  Sudhir Phadke – Amar Varma

Pi Aaye Aa Kar Chale Gaye – Bazaar – Shyam Sunder – Wali Saheb

Ye Rahen Mohabbat Katon Si Bhari Hai – Sawan Bhadon – Husnlal Bhagatram – Ravindra Dave –Duet

Solo Songs of Talat Mahmood

The songs do reveal the silken magic of Talat Mahmood, but certainly seems to await Anil Biswas’s ‘Arzoo’ touch to emerge as The Dominant Player, irrespective of numbers. It also appears to be no coincidence that music directors of two of the three films here belong to the Calcutta school.

Teri Gali Se Bahut..Dil Par Kisi Ka Teer-e-Nazar Kha Ke Rah Gaye – Rakhi – Husnlal Bhagatram – Sarshar Sailani

Jo Beet Gaya So Beet Gaya & Din Beet Chale – Swayam Siddha – Prafull Kumar Chaudhary – Bhawani Prasad Misra

Hai Ye Maine Kya Kiya – Samapti – Timir Baran ~ Pandit Bhushan

Man Ki Naina Bol Rahi Hai – Samapti – Timir Baran ~ Pandit Bhushan

In the next post we will listen to solo songs of Surendra along with the isolated solo songs of ‘the other singers’.

Author: ASHOK M VAISHNAV

In July 2011, I opted to retire from my active career as a practicing management professional. In the 38 years that I pursued this career, I had opportunity to work in diverse capacities, in small-to-medium-to-large engineering companies. Whether I was setting up Greenfield projects or Brownfield projects, nurturing the new start-ups or accelerating the stabilized unit to a next phase growth, I had many more occasions to take the paths uncharted. The life then was so challenging! One of the biggest casualty in that phase was my disregards towards my hobbies - Be with The Family, Enjoy Music form Films of 1940s to mid-1970s period, write on whatever I liked to read, pursue amateur photography and indulge in solving the chess problems. So I commenced my Second Innings to focus on this area of my life as the primary occupation. At the end of 12 years now, even as I have evolved a certain pattern for my blog, I need to plan to create certain definitive changes in that pattern over next year or two. Because, The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.